RSS Feed

Phoenix Rising from the Ashes

Maybe I was inspired by the movie Julie/Julia but I feel on the cusp of a huge transformational change right now.  I’m in my early 30’s.  For the past 8-10 years I have been lost but having ‘fun’ doing it.  I have most certainly been the poster girl for fun/party girl – at least from an outsider’s perspective.  But it took me a few years to realize that this seemingly innocent ‘partying’ was covering a deep unhappiness.  Generally speaking, when people are addicted they have lost hope and that their real life is not palatable somehow, so they check out and escape.  But what are you escaping from???  Well, it’s different for every individual.  For myself, I can say I’m escaping the mundane drone of my every day existence and the fact that I am toiling away so earnestly trying to fit a square peg in a round hole.  In this case the square peg is ‘me’ and the round hole is the ‘corporate world.’

No offense, but Blah, Ick, Gross.  I don’t belong here.  My pursuits, should I soon decide to give them their rightful place in my life are in music, art, making people laugh and all things spiritual.  Yet day in and day out I ride the subway full of faces looking like they’re headed for slaughter or their favourite aunt’s funeral.  And they accept the status quo.  Hundreds of thousands of people miserable, yet very few thinking they have the power to do anything about it.  Thousands of sheep going to slaughter.  I’m starting to wake up.  This is not going to last much longer. 

I love that we are in the middle of these times.  It reminds me of the ‘Tower’ card in the Tarot deck.  Our very foundation of beliefs is being shaken to its core.  Our financial systems are collapsing, there are lunatics with their finger inches away from the button, people are losing their jobs and being forced to stop distracting themselves from real priorities.  I truly believe we are in the middle of a renaissance.  Be the phoenix that rises from the ashes.  Don’t stay in the ash pile.  This is what I’m learning from it.  And find out what that means to you.  It means do what you really love.  Spend time with the people you love.  Find out a way how to do that.  Times like these are always auspicious for the most creative – it is the creative people that see opportunity in times of crisis. 

Now go and create the life you want.  This shake-up is providing a clean, pristine blank canvas and the possibilities are limitless.  🙂

Leave a Reply

