RSS Feed

The Storm Before the Calm

Posted on

I’m beginning to favor the storm before the calm.  More and more I’m noticing that these storm things are becoming most welcome friends.  I think there was a Seinfeld episode where George Costanza decided that since his life was such a disaster, he imageswould start doing the opposite of what he would normally do, and of course everything fell into place.  I think John Lennon may have also had a quote hinting that ‘Everything is the opposite.’ ….let’s see…  Yeah, here it is:

“I used to be cruel to my woman, and physically – any woman. I was a hitter. I couldn’t express myself and I hit. I fought men and I hit women. That is why I am always on about peace, you see. It is the most violent people who go for love and peace.”

“Everything’s the opposite. But I sincerely believe in love and peace. I am a violent man who has learned not to be violent and regrets his violence. I will have to be a lot older before I can face in public how I treated women as a youngster.”

“My defences were so great. The cocky rock and roll hero who knows all the answers was actually a terrified guy who didn’t know how to cry. Simple.”

 I’m starting to buy into that concept.  The thing that comes at us that seems to be the most terrible often turns out to be the best.  And then there was that famous loaves and fishes rabbi guy who said, “The first is the last and the last is the first.”  Yet another truism that so many things coming at us are illusory and we may just not be as clever as we would like to think.  Having finally grasped this concept I am now starting to see the bumps on the road as welcome static and interferences.  Another calamity??  Yes!!  Something is coming that’s gonna be like Christmas, the World Series and a Beatles reunion in one! There are countless examples of this. So the next time your investments crash, you get a flat tire or you miss a flight, don’t be so quick to despair.  And the next time it seems everything is lost or destroyed remember this:  Trees grow better after a fire – it lets the light in.

Leave a Reply

