RSS Feed

One-Note Wonders

I don’t think it can be argued that it doesn’t take something special to write a hit song (or at least a decent one) with one note.  Not the whole song of course, but a significant motif, hook or phrase.  This has been my unique obsession of the last couple of days.  As much as we rely on Google to shelve our brains and memory recall, I don’t think that even Google has the capability to find great songs that are built on just one note.  Maybe I need to have my people arrange a meeting with Larry and Sergei to discuss Gmusic.  You should be able to toggle to a microphone-activated Google virtual search engine where  you sing the song you’re thinking of into the microphone and it instantly finds the song you’re looking for.  Genius.  Why am I giving all of my ideas away?  Anyway, below are the one-note songs that come to mind.  What do the following artists have in common?  That’s a no-brainer.

“Try Sleeping With A Broken Heart” (opening of song) – Alicia Keys

“The GoodBye Look” (starts at 1:58) – Donald Fagen, Mel Torme singing.  I prefer Donald, but couldn’t find a decent recording on youtube.

“De Do Do Do De Da Da Da” – The Police

Symphony No. 7, Allegretto (opening and through out) – Good ‘ol Ludwig von Beethoven. Amazing how powerful a one-note motif can be.  Increds.

I know there are more, I just can’t think of them now.  Can any music geeks out there  think of any more?  Oops, just thought of another one.

String Quartet # 8 in c minor, 2nd mvmt. (starts at 4:35 – those dratted KGB knocks at the doh) – Shostakovich

I’m a dork.  I’m going to be neurotic head case trying to think of more. I bet there’s a code in the DSM IV for this.

Leave a Reply

