RSS Feed

Enough is Enough

Posted on

She walks into the boxing ring, unsuspecting.  One punch, “Ka-BOOM!” Okay.  Wasn’t expecting that.  Then there’s another huuuge left hook.  Ouch.  Kay, wasn’t expecting that either – in fact, that was a huge mind-(@*#^$(@.  However, I still have my support system intact.  I still have my nearest and dearest loved ones at my side, even if they are falling apart….

And………  WHOOM!  BAM!  Dislocated jaw in the ring.  Forget it. The powers that be in the Spiritual Court up above seem to be saying to me, “We can’t hit you enough right now.” And weeza gonna keeps on hittin! 

Lest I be wrapped up in a bit of narcissism for a moment or self-pity, “Why me?”  What did I do to deserve this?” Etc., etc.  This is happening to my loved ones (friends and family) with just as great of a frequency and urgency.  There are legions who are going through one crisis after another, boom, boom, boom, boom, boom.  Just when you think you haven’t heard the worst news or experienced the biggest challenge.  BOOM!  There is another one waiting to greet you. 

What is going on right now?  Most importantly, how can we most efficiently utilize this time to our advantage?  How can we use this very special unique time, rather than falling victim to it?  In every challenge and period of darkness – of which we are experiencing many – there seems to be an opportunity to reveal Light. No matter how much pain I am going through right now, I keep telling myself as I go to sleep every night, “But, I always want to be on the right side of things. I want to do the right thing in the face of darkness, no matter how difficult.”  But this is so much easier said than done.  I think of men like Viktor Frankl and Elie Wiesel.  I think of the men who are great bastions of Light, who overcame such darkness, and triumphed.  I always desire to do the most difficult thing, even though my impulse is to stick my head in the sand and escape the ever-present and deeply felt pain.  Sometimes it’s just too hard for uber-sensitive individuals. Yet, there is something that always want to keep pushing to make the story greater.  Always.  But I never knew how hard it was.  I guess I thought I was stronger than I actually was.

Let us look at what is really going on.  Perhaps if we understand it better, we would be more inclined to accept it and navigate the rough waters a bit more easily.

Even the CEO of Whole Foods recognizes publicly that the proverbial Shit is In Fact Hitting the Fan courtersy of a good  friend.  He said:

“I just opened up this article about John Mackey, the CEO of Whole Foods.  He had this to say about the current state of our society:

Indeed, I do not believe it is an exaggeration to claim that our society is actually undergoing a disintegration process whereby the fundamental premises and values supporting our institutions are all being called into question. While such disintegration is of course very painful to experience, it is also a tremendous opportunity for genuine transformation.

So, as difficult as this is to admit, I am starting to give up.  I have always fancied myself a spiritual warrior, yet I was not prepared for such battle and my friends and comrades have dispersed more than I would have expected them to.  Don’t get me wrong, there are several still standing…the ones who truly care, who are vigilantly attentive.  Yet there are still others, who I considered my “friends” who have shown themselves to be friends during good times only.  “Sorry, this is just too much pain for us to handle.”  they seem to be saying.  I’ve always heard the cliche, “You know who your true friends are when you’re going through crap.”  But I never thought it was actually true.

So here I remain in the middle of a pile of pain…feeling mildly alone.  Counting my friends, “You, you, you, you and you.”  Thank you.  Some of my family comes front and center, announcing themselves early on as the first ones to support each other.  You can always count on your family, they say (sometimes).  You can sometimes count on some of your friends, the ones I thought would be there have not been, and those who I never expected to be present have been extremely engaged (sometimes).  But I daresay, you will never know which one of your friends you can truly count upon, until you go through trials and tribulations.  That is the true test.

2 responses »

  1. Beautifully said and apposite.
    “Never, never, never, never give up.” – Winston Churchill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

